2D Maths

Thursday 14/11/19: TO DO: DONE: Went over quadratics again

Wednesday 13/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and finish off the topic of sets. Start Chapter 15: Quadratic equations, if time. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: questions 2, 3, 7 and 8 of exercise 15.1.

Tuesday 12/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with the test yourself exercise on sets. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 6, 7 and 8 of the test yourself exercise.

Monday 11/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with sets – moving onto the test yourself exercise. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 2, 4, and 6 of the test yourself exercise.


Friday 8/11/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did khanacademy.org and helped individuals with parts of the homework they had difficulty with. Homework: question 6, 7 and 8 of exercise 3.4 pages 55 and 56.

Thursday 7/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with solving problems involving sets. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 4, 5 and 6 of the test yourself exercise 3 on page 58.

Wednesday 6/11/19: TO DO: Continue with sets. Correct homework questions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1, 2 and 3 of exercise 3.4 page 55.

Tuesday 5/11/19: TO DO: Finish going over exam. Continue with sets. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 4 page 58.

Monday 4/11/19: TO DO: Give back exams and correct with students. DONE: Did the above. Did not get it finished. No homework given as a result.


Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November: Midterm break


Friday 25/10/19: TO DO: Test to be given. DONE: Test given.

Thursday 24/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with sets. Cover the associative property. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Wednesday 23/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with chapter 3: sets. Cover the topics of set difference and the commutative property. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: questions 1 and 2 of the test yourself 3 exercise page 58.

Tuesday 22/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with sets, exercise 3.1. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework:

Monday 21/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework and start chapter 3: sets. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 of exercise 3.1.


Friday 18/10/19: TO DO: Bring laptops to the room and students to do work on khanacademy.org accounts while their copies are marked. DONE: Did the above. Homework; questions 6, 7, 8 and 12 of the test yourself 2 exercise.

Thursday 17/10/19: TO DO: Correct the homework questions and continue with exercise 2.5. DONE: Students did the above. Homework: complete questions 6 and 12 of the test yourself 2 exercise.

Wednesday 16/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with the exercise on factorising and simplifying algebraic expressions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 15 from the test yourself 2 exercise.

Tuesday 15/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions ans start the next topic – factorising and simplifying equations. DONE: Did the above. Homework: Questions 9, 10, 11 & 15 of exercise 2.5.

Monday 14/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with algebra – factorising quadratics. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 42 and 44 page 34.


Friday 11/10/19: TO DO: Bring laptops to the room and students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 4 and 5 of the test yourself exercise page 36.

Thursday 10/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with algebra. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 2 of the test yourself exercise.

Wednesday 9/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Continue with algebra. Homework: question 1 (a) (i) and 2 (a) (i).

Tuesday 8/10/19: TO DO: Correct test. Continue with chapter 2. Did the above. Homework: complete exercise 2.2.

Monday 7/10/19: No class due to Pieta House talk given to 2nd years.


Friday 4/10/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacadmey.org accounts. DONE: Did the above. Homework: none given as most students were absent.

Thursday 3/10/19: Due to be away with Athletics team. Work left.

Wednesday 2/10/19: TO DO: Start Chapter 2: factorising. DONE: Did the above. Homework: varied depending on the student. Most had to complete exercise 2.1.

Tuesday 1/10/19: TO DO: Test on chapter 1 to be given. DONE: Test given

Monday 30/9/19: No school due to day off.


Friday 27/9/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts using the laptops. DONE: Students did the above. Homework: study for test next Tuesday.

Thursday 26/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions from Monday. Revise topics covered to date. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for upcoming test next Tuesday.

Wednesday 25/9/19: Due to be away at a JCT Maths inservice. Work to be left for students.

Tuesday 24/9/19: No school due to teacher inservice day.

Monday 23/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start the test yourself exercise. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 3, 7 and 9 of the test yourself exercise.


Friday 20/9/19: If free bring students to computer room. If not, then get the laptops and get students set up on khanacademy. DONE: Brought laptops to 2D. Students set themselves up on khanacademy and joined the 2D class. Homework: spend 20-30 minutes on khanacademy.org over the weekend and answer question 25 (ii) exercise 1.6.

Thursday 19/9/19: TO DO: Recap on algebraic division. Correct homework. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 25 (i) of exercise 1.6.

Wednesday 18/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework from exercise 1.8 and start algebraic division. DONE: Homework questions 1 and 3 exercise 1.6.

Tuesday 17/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with inequalities. DONE: Did the above. Homework: do question 20 exercise 1.8.

Monday 16/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework and start on solving inequalities. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 exercsie 1.8.


Friday 13/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework. Continue with inequalities – solving inequalities. DONE: Didn’t get onto solving inequalities. Spent extra time on basic inequalities. Homework: Q13 and 15 pages 18 and 19.

Thursday 12/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Continue with inequalities. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete Q11 page 18.

Wednesday 11/9/19: TO DO: Recap on inequalities. Correct homework. Continue with inequalities. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 5, 7, 9 exercise 1.7.

Tuesday 10/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework and continue with exercise 1.5. Start exercise 1.7. DONE: Did the above. Started exercise 1.7-inequalities.Homework: Q1 exercise 1.7 page 17.

Monday 9/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start exercise 1.5. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 9, 11 and 13 of exercise 1.5.


Friday 6/9/19: Away working with the SEC. Work left.

Thursday 5/9/19: Away working with the SEC. Work left.

Wednesday 4/9/19: Away working with SEC. Work left.

Tuesday 3/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with exercise 1.4. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the odd numbered questions of exercise 1.4.

Monday 2/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework question and continue with exercise 1.3. Start Exercise 1.4 – solving linear equations. DONE: Continued with exercise 1.3. Started exercise 1.4. Homework: questions 13 of exercise 1.3 and questions 1, 3 and 5 of exercise 1.4.


Friday 30/8/19: TO DO: Correct homework and continue with revision of algebra. Start substituting in of numbers into simple algebraic equations. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete question 10 exercise 1.3.

Thursday 29/8/19: TO DO: Check homework and correct. Continue with revision of algebra. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 24 and 25 of exercise 1.2.

Wednesday 28/8/19: Due to be away working with the SEC. Work left – complete odd-numbered questions in exercises 1.1 and 1.2.

Tuesday 27/8/19: TO DO: Discuss the year plan with the class and start on revision of algebra. DONE: Did the above. No students had the textbook yet. Homework: get Text & Tests 2 New Edition asap and the relevant exercise copies.