3F Science


Friday 17/5/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions from paper H. DONE: Finished correcting paper G. Homework: complete questions 3 and 4 of sample paper H.

Thursday 16/5/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions from paper G. DONE: Corrected section A of the sample paper G. Homework: complete questions 1 and 2 of the sample paper H.

Tuesday 14/5/19: TO DO: Continue with the exam papers. DONE: Covered the remainder of sample paper E and covered the entire paper F. Homework: complete paper G in full.


Friday 10/5/19: TO DO: Students to demonstrate the effect expansion of air upon heating. Also, demonstrate the radiation experiment. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the write-ups of all experiments completed this week.

Thursday 9/5/19: TO DO: Continue correcting sample exam papers. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete section B of the sample paper G.

Tuesday 7/5/19: TO DO: Students to do heat experiments. Also, demonstrate the distillation activity, if time. DONE: Students only did some heat experiments. Homework: complete section A of sample paper G.

Monday 6/5/19: NO school – bank holiday.


Friday 3/5/19: TO DO: Start correcting sample paper E. DONE: Did the above. Corrected section A of sample paper E. Homework: complete sample paper F for next Tuesday and learn off science formula in the physics section of the course.

Thursday 2/5/19: TO DO: Complete correcting sample paper D. DONE: Did the above. Did revision. Homework: complete section A of sample paper F

Tuesday 30/4/19: TO DO: Correct sample paper D and students to continue work on papers. DONE: Started correcting sample paper D. Did not get it finished. Homework: complete sample paper E for Thursday.


Monday 15/4/19 – Friday 26/4/19: EASTER HOLIDAYS


Friday 12/4/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and students to continue with questions from sample paper D. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete sample paper D and E.

Thursday 11/4/19: TO DO: Correct questions from Sample paper B and C. DONE: Completed correcting questions from sample paper B and 9 questions from sample paper C. Homework: complete questions 1, 2, 3 from sample paper D.

Tuesday 9/4/19: TO DO: Do experiment to show the effect surface area has on the rate of chemical reactions. DONE: Students conducted experiemnt to investigate the effect of surface area on the rate of reaction in the breakdown of hydrogen peroxide by celery. Homework: complete the write-up.


Friday 5/4/19: TO DO: Give test on order of the planets and solar v lunar eclipse. Students to work on sample paper C. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete sample paper C.

Thursday 4/4/19: TO DO: Check on write-ups. Correct sample paper B. Continue with sample paper D. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test on the order of the planets and eclipses.

Tuesday 2/4/19: TO DO: Practical activity: to produce and test for oxygen gas and hydrogen gas. DONE: Students did the above practical. They started writing up their work and their results. Homework: complete the write-up for Thursday.


Friday 29/3/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions from sample paper C. Revise various topics and discuss preparation of hydrogen and oxygen in preparation for next Tuesday’s practical. DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off the order of the planets for test next week.

Thursday 28/3/19: TO DO: Continue with exam papers. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete sample paper C for tomorrow.

Tuesday 26/3/19: TO DO: Practical activity: to produce carbon dioxide gas from marble chips and acid. DONE: Students did the above practical. They started writing up their work and their results. Homework: complete the write-up for Thursday.


Friday 22/3/19: TO DO: Students to continue with their exam paper questions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete paper question.

Thursday 21/3/19: TO DO: Students to continue with their exam paper questions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: answer paper question on acids and bases.

Tuesday 19/3/19: TO DO: Practical activity to titrate HCl against NaOH. DONE: Students did the above activity. Homework: complete the experimental write-up for Thursday.

Monday 18/3/19: No school – bank holiday.


Friday 15/3/19: No school due to scheduled day off.

Thursday 14/3/19: TO DO: Test on activation energies. Students to do exam papers. DONE: Gave short test on activation energies. Students started on their exam papers. Homework: official 2018 SEC exam paper and sample paper 1 for next Tuesday.

Tuesday 12/3/19: TO DO: Finish going over mock exam. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study pages 113-115 in the text book on activation energies for a short test on them on Thursday.


Friday 8/3/19: TO DO: Continue going over the mock exam paper. Also test students on some of their physics formulas. DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off physics formulas again as well as SI units for various measurements.

Thursday 7/3/19: TO DO: Go over mock exam. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study physics formulas for short informal assessment tomorrow.

Tuesday 5/3/19: Acid and base experiments – test substances for acidity/basicity as well as pH. Students are also to prepare and use red cabbage indicator. Homework: complete the experimental write-up of today’s activities.


Friday 1/3/19: Continue revision on acids and bases – give written exercises on this topic. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete sample paper 1 acid/bases question and complete pages 68, 69, 70 and 71 in the workbook.

Thursday 28/2/19: TO DO: Revise acids and bases and cover the theory on red cabbage indicator. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete pages 14 and 15 in their science exam papers book.

Tuesday 26/2/19: No class due to talk for all third years in the hall.


Monday 18/2/19 – Friday 22/2/19: Midterm Break.


Monday 11/2/19 – Friday 15/2/19: JC Mock Exams


Wednesday 6/2/19 – Friday 8/2/19: Absent.

Tuesday 5/2/19: TO DO: Students to do the stimulus material for the first class of the double and complete the assessment task during the second part of the double period. DONE: Students completed the above tasks.


Monday 13/1/19 – Friday 1/2/19: CBA-2 project work.


Monday 7/1/19 – Friday 11/1/19: Due to be away – work left for students.


Friday 21/12/18: No class.

Thursday 20/12/18:
TO DO: Give back Christmas tests and go over. Discuss the CBA-2 process in preparation for the students starting it in January.
DONE: Only 8 students in. Gave their tests back and started going over it.

Tuesday 18/12/18: No class due to students being away on a trip.


Friday 14/12/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions. Give extra practice questions on Ohm’s Law. Continue with the three effects of an electric current. Discuss in detail the chemical effect of an electric current in preparation for a practical activity on Tuesday.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 6 at the end of section 14.2.

Thursday 13/12/18:
TO DO: Recap on Ohm’s Law and the practical from Tuesday. Cover the topic of Ohm’s law calculations.
DONE: Did the above. Gave Ohm’s laws questions for homework as well as to complete pages 126 and 127 of their workbooks.

Tuesday 11/12/18:
TO DO: Students to conduct practical activity to demonstrate Ohm’s Law.
DONE: All students did the above activity. Homework: complete the write up of the activity and draw a graph of results.


Tuesday 4/12/18 – Friday 7/12/18: Christmas in-house exams


Friday 30/11/18: Due to be away at TY training day. Work left for students.

Thursday 29/11/18: No class due to teacher inservice day.

Tuesday 27/11/18:
TO DO: Electricity practicals – test conductor v insulators; series v parallel circuits and magnetic effect of electric current.
DONE: Students completed the above practicals and started writing them up. Homework: complete the write-ups and study for next week’s Christmas exams.


Friday 23/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework question worksheet and continue with earth sun and moon section.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for upcoming test.

Thursday 22/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with the section on Earth sun and moon.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete worksheet.

Tuesday 20/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework, discuss orbits etc. Show documentary on the solar system. Students to answer a quiz based on the documentary.
DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete the question sheet.


Friday 16/11/18:
TO DO: Get students to write a reflection report. Correct homework questions. Take up any remaining lab books. Start Earth, Sun and Moon.
DONE: Did the above. Started Earth, Sun and Moon section. Homework: draw diagrams of the relative positions of the Earth, Sun and Moon for each of the four lunar phases.

Thursday 15/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions. Recap on speed, velocity and acceleration. Start on section 15.1 (earth, moon and sun), if time.
DONE: Students did work on catching up with incomplete work – both chapter questions, graphs and experimental work. Homework: have everything completed for tomorrow. Checkpoint questions, graphs, end of chapter questions (1-7) pages 304-5 and experimental write-ups (where applicable).

Tuesday 13/11/18:
TO DO: Students to be given practice questions on calculating speed, velocity, acceleration.
DONE: Students were given extra questions and worksheets. Homework: complete the checkpoint 4 and 5 pages 298-299, draw graph of Usain Bolt’s times for each 10m from the given table, and chapter questions (1-7) pages 304-5.


Friday 9/11/18: TO DO:Continue with section on motion and speed, velocity and acceleration. DONE: Students did checkpoint 1 and 2. Homework: finish questions and complete given worksheet.

Thursday 8/11/18: TO DO: Recap on the activity and students to draw a graph of their data. DONE: Students spent the class drawing graphs and answering questions based on them. Homework: complete given worksheet.

Tuesday 6/11/18: TO DO: Start motion. Students to practice questions on calculating speeds, given the distance and time. Then during the second class, students will conduct an activity to measure the speeds of cars along the road outside the school. They will use the data collected to calculate overall acceleration of the vehicles. DONE: Students did the above. Homework: complete the table of data and calculate speeds and acceleration.


Friday 26/10/18: TO DO: Test. DONE: Test given

Thursday 25/10/18: TO DO: Due to be only a 20 minute class due to TY teacher meeting. Revision worksheets to be given. DONE: Did the above. Homework: revise for test tomorrow.

Tuesday 23/10/18: TO DO: Practical activity: to use various measuring devices and record data and use the data in further calculations. DONE: Students did the above, calculating masses, lengths, volumes and densities. Homework: complete the write-up of the activity in the lab notebook.


Friday 19/10/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Students to continue with workbook questions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete pages 101-103 in the workbook for next Tuesday. Also, study for test next week.

Thursday 18/10/18: TO DO: Discuss graph of results and practical activity carried out on Tuesday. Start Unit 10.1. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-4 from the workbook pages 100-101.

Tuesday 16/10/18: TO DO: Practical activity to grow crystals of copper sulphate and write up activity. Also show video on solutions. Also students to practice drawing another solubility curve. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete the graph of the solubility of copper sulphate in water with temperature.


Friday 12/10/18: TO DO: Correct homework, and give back tests and discuss. Cover the topic of crystals. DONE: Did the above. Talked about the CBA-2 and the Christmas test upcoming. Homework: questions 1-6 page 170.

Thursday 11/10/18: TO DO: Topic to be covered: graph plotting and interpreting. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the fourth and final graph question given out.

Wednesday 10/10/18: No school due to whole-school well-being inservice for teachers

Tuesday 9/10/18: Due to be absent. Worksheets to be given by covering teacher.


Friday 5/10/18: TO DO: Test to be given. DONE: Gave test on nutrition, habitat study and solutions and solubility.

Thursday 4/10/18: TO DO: Cover solution, solute, solvent, saturated, solubility. Graphing solubility curves. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow (Friday).

Tuesday 2/10/18: TO DO: Start solutions and crystallisation section. Practical activity to test solubility of sodium carbonate in water with temperature. DONE: Did the above. Homework:


Friday 28/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions from the worksheet. Cover competition and interdependence. Recap on conservation. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test next Wednesday.

Thursday 27/9/18: TO DO: Continue with habitat study theory – cover adaptations. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete worksheet.

Tuesday 25/9/18: TO DO: Rocky seashore habitat study. DONE: Did the above. Homework: describe in detail the 5 identified animals and 5 identified plants/flora.


Friday 21/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions 1-5 pages 143 and 144. Continue with theory of ecology. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 6-9 page 144 and complete pages 38 and 39 of your workbooks for next Tuesday.

Thursday 20/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Start the theory part of section 5.1 study of habitat. DONE: Did the above. Covered biosphere, habitat, ecosystem, community, population, and food chains. Homework: questions 1-5 pages 143-4.

Tuesday 18/9/18: No school due to teacher CPD.


Friday 14/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Students to do extra questions from workbook – revision. Cover unbalanced diet and malnutrition. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete pages 12, 13, 14 and 15 in workbook for next Thursday.

Thursday 13/9/18: TO DO: Review of the habitat study. Continue with Unit 2.1. DONE: Did the above. Covered food additives and preservatives and the food pyramid. Homework: questions 1-5 page 36.

Tuesday 11/9/18: TO DO: Habitat study. DONE: Introduced habitat study to students and went to Terryland Forest Park and conducted habitat study – identifying plants and animals as well as conducting a distribution study and measuring some abiotic factors. Homework: none given as we got back to school too late.


Friday 7/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions from the worksheets. Cover the topics of food additives and balanced diet. DONE: Students to do chapter questions and worksheet questions, if time. Homework: complete chapter questions at the end of unit 1.2.

Thursday 6/9/18: TO DO: Correct homework questions and students to do questions from their own workbooks. Finish off the food groups. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions from pages 8, 9, 10 and 11 of the workbook.

Tuesday 4/9/18: TO DO: Correct/discuss homework. Bring in samples of nutritional information labels and students are to discuss which are healthy and which are unhealthy. Students are also to do a Benedict’s test. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: students to complete a worksheet given out.


Thursday 30/8/18: TO DO: Discuss with students topics to be covered. Start on nutrition. DONE: Started unit 2.1: Nutrition and well-being. Discussed the constituents of food and their general functions. Homework: learn off the six definitions on page 24.