5.2 Biology


Friday 13/3/20: No class due to Covid-19.

Thursday 12/3/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the functions of all the various parts of the breathing system. Show crash course video on breathing system. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete questions 1 and 2 of the chapters questions at the end of chapter 35.

Tuesday 10/3/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start chapter 35: the human breathing system. Cover the structure of the human breathing system and then students will conduct the activity to measure the effect of exercise on breathing rate. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete the write up of the activity and answer the one practical activity question.

Monday 9/3/20: TO DO: Cover the remainder of the lymphatic system (adenoids, tonsils, spleen, thymus and the general functions of the lymphatic system) and chapter and show them the crash course biology video on the lymphatic system. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete chapter questions 1-8 page 335.


Friday 6/3/20: TO DO: Recap on worksheet questions and start lymphatic system chapter. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete chapter questions 1-3 and draw out diagram 32.2.

Thursday 5/3/20: TO DO: Give back tests and go over questions. Finish chapter 31 material and start lymphatic system. DONE: Gave back tests. Finished diet, exercise and smoking and the heart sounds. Did not get to start lymphatic system. Homework: complete short answer questions on worksheet given out at the end of class.

Tuesday 3/3/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the cardiac cycle, pulse, blood pressure and effects of diet, exercise and smoking on the circulatory system. DONE: Did all of the above except for effects of diet, exercise and smoking on the human circulatory system. Homework: complete all questions at the end of chapter 31.

Monday 2/3/20: TO DO: Cover the major arteries and veins and functions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1-6 at the end of the chapter.


Friday 28/2/20: TO DO: Test to be given. DONE: Test given.

Thursday 27/2/20: TO DO: Check HW and cover the functions of all the various parts of the human heart. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Tuesday 25/2/20: TO DO: Cover the structure of the human heart and then do the dissection of a lamb’s heart. DONE: Did the above. Homework: write up the activity fully in lab copies.

Monday 24/2/20: TO DO: Structure and function of arteries, veins and capillaries. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework:


Friday 14/2/20: TO DO: Class to be taken by other teacher. Test to be given on blood. Survey to be completed for cell explorers. DONE: Did all of the above.

Thursday 13/2/20: TO DO: Continue with chapter 31: human circulatory system – open v closed circulatory systems. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow given by other biology teacher.

Tuesday 11/2/20: TO DO: Start Chapter 31: The human circulatory system. Cover open v closed systems and the three types of blood vessels: artery, vein, capillary. DONE: Covered rhesus factor and recapped on the chapter on blood. Students conducted the activity to investigate the effect of exercise on pulse rate. Homework: complete the experimental write up and answer practical activity questions 1-3 page 328.

Monday 10/2/20: TO DO: Class due to be taken by other biology teacher.


Friday 7/2/20: Due to be away. Work to be left for students to complete.

Thursday 6/2/20: Due to be away. Work to be left for students to complete.

Tuesday 4/2/20: TO DO: Give short test on Chapter 3: Food. Cover the effects of pH, glucose concentration and calcium concentration on homeostasis. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-7 page 306.

Monday 3/2/20: TO DO: Class due to be taken by other biology teacher. Cover the topic of blood, components of blood and detailed study of red blood cells.


Friday 31/1/20: TO DO: Other teacher due to take class and start the topic of blood.

Thursday 30/1/20: TO DO: Give back tests and discuss the answers. Start Chapter 29: Homeostasis. DONE: Did all of the above. Covered the definition of homeostasis and the importance of regulating temperature. Homework: study Chapter 3 for a short revision test on Monday.

Tuesday 28/1/20: Due to be away working with the SEC. Work left for students to complete.

Monday 27/1/20: Due to be away at Schools Cross Country. Test left for students to do.


Friday 24/1/20: TO DO: Complete chapter 33 – cover the food pyramid and a balanced diet. DONE: Covered the above topics and did revision. Students finished off their worksheets. Homework: study for upcoming test on Monday.

Thursday 23/1/20: TO DO: Cover the topics of large intestine, rectum, anus and balanced diet and the food pyramid. DONE: Covered large intestine, rectum and anus. Did not get food pyramid or balanced diet completed. Homework: study for upcoming test.

Tuesday 21/2/10: TO DO: Cover the duodenum, ileum, structure of the villus. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete up to and including question 17 at the end of the chapter (page 348).

Monday 20/1/20: TO DO: Cover the topics of bile, the pancreas and the duodenum. DONE: Only got bile and pancreas topics covered. Homework: complete up to and including question at the end of the chapter.


Friday 17/1/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with the human digestive system. Cover the topic of the liver, its location, blood supplies and functions. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete up to and including question 7.

Thursday 16/1/20: TO DO: Cover the topics of the pharynx, oesophagus and stomach. DONE: Covered all of the above topics. Homework: questions 7, 8, 9 and 10 page 347.

Tuesday 14/1/20: TO DO: Continue with the human digestive system. Show the crash course video part 1 on the digestive system. Cover the structure and function of the digestive system and more detailed study of the mouth and accessory organs. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-6 at the end of the chapter page 347.

Monday 13/1/20: TO DO: Give test and continue with the digestive system. Cover general functions of the digestive system. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1, 2, and 3 on the worksheet.


Friday 10/1/20: TO DO: Continue with digestive system and the structure and anatomy of the human digestive system. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study the parts of the human digestive system for a test on labelling the digestive system on Monday.

Thursday 9/1/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start Chapter 33: human digestive system. DONE: Did the above. Covered nutrition and the various types of nutrition in animals and examples. Homework: study.

Tuesday 7/1/20: TO DO: Practical activity to demonstrate the action of human salivary amylase. DONE: Students conducted the above practical and wrote it up. Homework: complete the worksheet given out at the end of class.

Monday 6/1/20: TO DO: Give back tests and go over the questions. Recap on the biochemistry of respiration. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the revision worksheet given out to students.


Friday 20/12/19: No class due to 5th year students being given the day off.

Thursday 19/12/19: TO DO: Give test. DONE: Many students absent due to cinema trip.

Tuesday 17/12/19: TO DO: Practical activity to test for alcohol. DONE: Students did the practical and finished writing it up. They also completed the practical activity questions on page 140. Homework: study for the test this Thursday.

Monday 16/12/19: TO DO: Cover the Krebs’ Cycle and ETC. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for upcoming test.


Friday 13/12/19: TO DO: PME teacher due to take class and cover Krebs’ Cycle and the electron transport chain. DONE: The above topics were covered.

Thursday 12/12/19: TO DO: Continue with respiration. Cover structure of a mitochondrion and recap on glycolysis. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test next week.

Tuesday 10/12/19: TO DO: Complete bioprocessing topic – cover the three ways in which an enzyme can be immobilised and the advantages. DONE: Did the above. Continued with respiration – glycolysis and showed crash course videos. Homework: study for end of term test next Thursday.

Monday 9/12/19: TO DO: PME teacher to continue with chapter 12: Respiration. Glycolysis to be covered. DONE: PME teacher completed the above.


Friday 6/12/19: TO DO: PME teacher due to start chapter 12: Respiration with the class. DONE: PME teacher completed the above.

Thursday 5/12/19: TO DO: Give remaining students the November test and cover optimum activity, denaturation and bioprocessing. DONE: Did the above. Only covered the start of bioprocessing. Homework: study for upcoming test.

Tuesday 3/12/19: TO DO: Practical activity to set up experiment to produce and test for alcohol. DONE: Students did the above activity. Many absent. Homework: study for upcoming Christmas test in just over 2 weeks.

Monday 2/12/19: TO DO: Another teacher due to cover the topic of active site theory – lock & key model and the induced fit model.


Friday 29/11/19: TO DO: Test on chapters 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9. DONE: Test given.

Thursday 28/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the topic of turgidity and plasmolysis. DONE: Did the above. Also covered the start of the enzymes chapter. Covered definitions ‘metabolism’ and ‘enzyme’ and two types of anabolic and two types of catabolic enzymes. Also covered factors affecting enzymes. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Tuesday 26/11/19: TO DO: Practical activities: heat denaturation activity. DONE: Did the above activity. Homework: complete the past paper questions given out from 2008 and 2013.

Monday 25/11/19: No school – day off.


Friday 22/11/19: TO DO: Bring students to computer room to do work on khanacademy.org. DONE: Did the above. Half the class missing. Homework: study for upcoming end of month test.

Thursday 21/11/19: No school due to JCT cluster day.

Tuesday 19/11/19: TO DO: Practical activity to demonstrate osmosis using potato cubes. DONE: did the practical. Homework: complete the questions given on worksheet.

Monday 18/11/19: Away at a NCCA meeting. Work left. Homework: complete the


Friday 15/11/19: TO DO: DONE:

Thursday 14/11/19: TO DO: Correct the homework questions from the quiz and discuss. Cover the topics of osmosis, diffusion, selective permeability, crenation, and applications of osmosis. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: question 1-5 page 101.

Tuesday 12/11/19: TO DO: Practical activity to immobilise yeast cells and examine their application. DONE: Students did the above practical and wrote it up in their lab copies. Homework: complete the following multiple choice questions: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfyzzYse3_NUEOCP2SXHXfCkQxaCXfFM3WP93GuXLj5oTjFKA/viewform

Monday 11/11/19: TO DO: PME teacher due to take class and finish chapter 7 with them. DONE: PME teacher took the class and finished Chapter 7: cell diversity with them.


Friday 8/11/19: Students are due to be brought to lab by PME to be shown tissues from various parts of an animal. Dissection may be involved. DONE:

Thursday 7/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover chapter 7. DONE; Did the above. Homework: answer chapter questions 1, 2, 3 and 7.

Tuesday 5/11/19: TO DO: Practical activity to investigate the effect of temperature on the rate of action of catalase. DONE; Students conducted the above practical and started writing it up. Homework; complete the write up and answer practical activity question 1-7.

Monday 4/11/19: TO DO: 2nd year PME to take class and cover Chapter 7: cell diversity. DONE: Just the four types of animal tissue and three types of plant tissue were covered.


Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November: Midterm break


Friday 25/10/19: TO DO: Bring students to computer room as many are due to be absent and students are to do work on their khanacademy accounts. DONE: Did the above. Homework: none given

Thursday 24/10/19: TO DO: Give back test and correct. Correct homework questions. DONE: Gave back test and corrected. Did not get to do homework questions. Homework: none given as many students were absent.

Tuesday 22/10/19: TO DO: Give test on topics covered to date. DONE: Test given. During the second class, the electron microscope and prokaryotic v eukaryotic cells was covered. Homework: chapter questions 14-17 page 91 and sample exam questions 1-4 page 92.

Monday 21/10/19: TO DO: Cover the topic of plant cells and the functions of the various parts. Cover the topic of the light microscope, if time. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow.


Friday 18/10/19: TO DO: Bring students to the computer room to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE:

Thursday 17/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and discuss the results of the activity. Students are to draw bar chart of their results. DONE: Did all of the above. Also started chapter 6 with the students and covered the structure and function of all the various parts of an animal cell. Homework: study for test next Tuesday.

Tuesday 15/10/19: TO DO: Practical activity to investigate the effect of pH on the rate of enzyme action. DONE: Students did the practical. Homework: complete the write up and answer practical activity questions 1-7 page 107.

Monday 14/10/19: No class due to talk in the gym.


Friday 11/10/19: TO DO: Bring students to computer room to do work on khanacademy.org. DONE: Students worked on their biology assignments. Some are nearly complete. Homework: study for upcoming end of term test.

Thursday 10/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover water and anabolism and catabolism. DONE: Corrected HW questions and covered the topic of water only. Did not get anabolism or catabolism covered. Homework: questions 25-40 multiple choice questions on page 29.

Tuesday 8/10/19: TO DO: Practical activity to demo osmosis. DONE: Students conducted the practical and started the write up. Homework: questions 1-7 (practical activity questions) page 100 and question 18 and 19 page 28.

Monday 7/10/19: TO DO: Cover vitamins and minerals. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 20, 21 and 22.


Friday 4/10/19: TO DO: Give the test to two students who didn’t do the test earlier this week. Others to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did the above. Homework: none given as Junior cert results are out today.

Thursday 3/10/19: Due to be away with the Athletics team. Work left.

Tuesday 1/10/19: TO DO: Test on topics covered to date. DONE: Test given.

Monday 30/9/19: No school due to day off.


Friday 27/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Cover proteins. DONE: Revision as many students were absent. Did not cover proteins. Homework: study for test next Tuesday.

Thursday 26/9/19: TO DO: Finish covering carbohydrates and start on lipids. DONE: Did the above. Homework: chapter questions 1-17 page 28.

Tuesday 24/9/19: No school due to teacher inservice day.

Monday 23/9/19: TO DO: Practical assessment of the food tests. DONE: Did the above. Students were randomly assigned food tests to do and they had to conduct them safely and confidently using the chemicals/equipment given to them. Homework: study for upcoming test.


Friday 20/9/19: TO DO: Give test. Continue with carbs and then lipids. DONE: Gave test. Many students absent due to school retreat. Brought remaining students to computer room to do work on biology on khanacademy.org. Homework: study carbs again for a repeat test on Tuesday, next.

Thursday 19/9/19: TO DO: Recap on the practical activities completed recently. Get students to do the practical activity questions. Also, continue with chapter 3: Lipids section. DONE: Covered the practical activity questions. Did not get onto lipids. Went over carbohydrates again. Homework; study the different types of carbs and their sources, chemical formulas etc for short informal test.

Tuesday 17/9/19: TO DO: Practical activities to become familiar with the light microscope and use the light microscope to view plant (onion) cells using the light microscope. DONE: Students did the above practicals and started writing them up. Homework: Complete the write-ups in full and study the food tests for practical assessment next Monday.

Monday 16/9/19: TO DO: Students to revise the actual practicals involved in the food tests for a practical exam next Monday. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for next week’s practical activity exam.


Friday 13/9/19: TO DO: Give test on elements and continue with chapter 3. DONE: Did the above. Covered the topic of carbohydrates. Homework: questions 1-7 page 27.

Thursday 12/9/19: TO DO: Recap. Start the theory of chapter 3. Cover the elements of food. DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off the elements for a short test tomorrow.

Tuesday 10/9/19: TO DO: Practical activities to test for protein and lipids. DONE: Students did the above practicals and started writing up. Homework: complete the experimental write-ups and answer practical activity questions on pages 21 and 24.

Monday 9/9/19: TO DO: Cover chapter 2: characteristics of life. DONE: Covered chapter 2: characteristics of life. Homework: questions 1-10 page 13.


Friday 6/9/19: Away working with the SEC.

Thursday 5/9/19: Due to be away working with the SEC. Worksheets left.

Tuesday 3/9/19: TO DO: Practical activities to test for reducing sugar and starch. DONE: Students conducted the above practicals and wrote them up. Homework: complete the write-ups if not already done and complete the practical activity questions for both experiments (pages 17 and 19).

Monday 2/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the limitations of the scientific method. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 7-13 p8.


Friday 30/8/19: TO DO: Correct homework and cover the topics of theory, principle/law and the principles of experimentation. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete the worksheet given out (questions 1-3).

Thursday 29/8/19: TO DO: Recap and start Chapter 1: scientific method. Cover the topics of life , three areas of study in biology and the scientific method. DONE: Completed the above. Homework: question 1-4 page 8.

Tuesday 27/8/19: TO DO: Discuss year plan and health and safety in the labs and start on the scientific method. Students to do experiment to determine which beaker contains 7Up and which beaker contains 7Up free. DONE: Did the above. Homework: read over and familiarise with the lab safety document and write up the experiment conducted today fully. Get the textbook (if not already got) and a lab note book and the relevant exercise copies for the year.