5th year Biology


Fri 13/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: Test for alcohol. DONE:

Wed 11/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: to dissect a lamb’s kidney. DONE:

Tue 10/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: To dissect a lamb’s heart. DONE:

Mon 9/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: To prepare alcohol using immobilised yeast and sucrose. DONE:


Fri 6/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity to investigate the application of immobilised enzymes. DONE:

Wed 4/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: to prepare beads of immobilised enzyme. DONE:

Tue 3/11/20: TO DO: Continue with the topic of enzymes. Cover active site theory of enzyme action, and cover enzyme immobilisation and its applications. DONE:

Mon 2/11/20: TO DO: Practical activity: to demonstrate heat denaturation of enzymes. DONE:

Mon 26/10/20 – Fri 30/10/20: Midterm break.


Fri 22/10/20: TO DO: Test to be given. Test should only take approximately 30 min. Start and introduce enzymes. Cover structure and general functions of enzymes. DONE:

Wed 21/10/20: TO DO: Practical activity to investigate the effect of temperature on the rate of enzyme activity. DONE: Students completed the practical and started writing it up. Homework: complete the write up of the practical activity and study for upcoming test on Friday.

Tue 20/10/20: TO DO: Recap on yesterday’s results. Plot table of results with students and discuss the conclusions made. Continue and finish Chapter 8: Movement through cell membranes – complete the topics of turgidity, plasmolysis and applications of osmosis. Homework: complete questions 6 and 7 page 101 and study for upcoming test this Friday.

Mon 19/10/20: TO DO: Practical activity to investigate the effect of pH on the rate of enzyme activity. DONE: Students completed the practical and started writing it up. Homework: complete the write up of the practical activity and study for upcoming test on Friday.


Fri 16/10/20: TO DO: Practical activity to demonstrate osmosis using potato cubes. DONE: Students completed the above activity. Homework: study for end of term test next Friday.

Wed 14/10/20: TO DO: Weigh Visking tubes again. Finish off practical activity write-up and continue with Chapter 8: Movement through cell membranes. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-5 p101

Tue 13/10/20: No class due to teacher training day.

Mon 12/10/20: TO DO: Start Chapter 8: Movement through cell membranes. Students to set up practical activity to demonstrate osmosis. DONE: Practical activity to demonstrate osmosis was set up. Homework: complete the practical write up and answer questions 1-7 page 100.


Fri 9/10/20: TO DO: Correct some of the chapter questions from chapter 6: cell structure. Also, correct the practical activity questions from the plant cell and animal cell activities. Finally, if time, cover organs and some examples and tissue culturing and its uses. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete all chapter questions 1-7 p97 at the end of chapter 7.

Wed 7/10/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Cover animal cell activity. Cover Chapter 7. DONE: Didn’t get around to correcting the practical activity questions. Covered the animal cell experiment and started Chapter 7: Diversity of cells. Covered the three types of plant tissue and the four types of animal tissue. Homework: complete the questions given yesterday for Friday.

Tue 6/10/20: TO DO: Discuss preparing animal cells using the light microscope. Discuss the electron microscope. Cover prokaryotic versus eukaryotic cells. DONE: Covered the electron microscope and showed crash course biology video on animal cells. Covered prokaryotic v eukaryotic cells. Homework: answer chapter questions 1-17 page 91 (for Friday) and answer practical activity questions 1-7 page 90 (for tomorrow)

Mon 5/10/20: TO DO: Practical activity to prepare and view plant cells using the light microscope. DONE: Students completed the practical activity and started writing it up. Homework: complete the experimental write up and answer practical activity questions 1-7 p90.


Friday 2/10/20: TO DO: Give worksheet to fill out on the parts and functions of the light microscope. DONE: Did the above. Students also got the opportunity to use a light microscope and follow the steps for using a light microscope correctly. Homework: summarise the steps for using a light microscope.

Wed 30/9/20: TO DO: Test to be given for the first 30 minutes and then carry on with cell structure etc. DONE: Did the above. Covered the functions of all cell parts. Started the microscope. Covered the parts of the microscope. Homework: learn the parts and functions of the microscope.

Tue 29/9/20: TO DO: Cover anabolism v catabolism and start Chapter 6: Cell structure. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Mon 28/9/20: No class due to school day off.


Fri 25/9/20: TO DO: Continue with Chapter 3: Nutrition. Cover vitamins, minerals, water and anabolism v catabolism. DONE: Covered vitamins, minerals and water, but not anabolism v catabolism. Homework: complete up to an including question 18 of the chapter questions at the end of Chapter 3.

Wed 23/9/20: TO DO: Students to complete the remaining practical activities in Chapter 3: lipid test, starch test and protein test. DONE: Students completed the remaining food tests – lipid, starch and protein. Homework: practical activity questions on the following pages:

Tue 22/9/20: TO DO: Cover the theory of the practical activities to be done in this chapter. Recap on topics covered. DONE: Did the above. Recapped on all aspects covered to date. Students completed additional worksheet questions. Homework: complete worksheet.

Mon 21/9/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with Chapter 3. Cover the topic of proteins. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions on worksheet.


Fri 18/9/20: TO DO: Practical activity to test for reducing sugar. DONE: Students did the test for reducing sugar. They tested various items – 7up, 7up free, glucose, sucrose, water, etc. Homework: write up practical activity and answer practical activity questions.

Wed 16/9/20: TO DO: Finish carbs and cover topic of lipids. DONE: Completed carbs and lipids. Homework: complete

Tue 15/9/20: TO DO: Finish carbs and cover topic of lipids. DONE: Happened to be absent. Work left with substitute teacher. Students covered lipids.

Mon 14/9/20: TO DO: Cover carbohydrates. DONE: Covered the start of carbohydrates – mono and disaccharides. Homework: chapter questions:


Fri 11/9/20: TO DO: Cover chapter 2: characteristics of life. DONE: Covered the characteristics of life. Homework: answer all chapter questions.

Wed 9/9/20: TO DO: Cover the principles of experimentation and limitations of the scientific method. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete all remaining chapter questions in Chapter 1.

Tue 8/9/20: TO DO: Continue with Scientific method. Cover the seven steps. DONE: Covered the topic of scientific method and the seven steps. Homework: complete up to question

Mon 7/9/20: TO DO: Introduction to LC Biology. Discuss the year plan, etc. Start Chapter 1: Scientific method. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-4 page 5