LC1 Biology

Wednesday 20/3/19: TO DO: Continue with correcting the mock exam. DONE:

Tuesday 19/3/19: TO DO: Correct mock exam. DONE: Did the above. Got to question 7. Homework: study.

Monday 18/3/19: No school – bank holiday.


Thursday 14/3/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Cover fruit formation. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete question 1-8 page 299.

Wednesday 13/3/19: TO DO: Cover the topic of seed formation and seed structure. DONE: Did the above. Homework: Complete question 6-13 on worksheet.

Tuesday 12/3/19: TO DO: Brain exhibition (12 noon – 1 pm). Give short test on brain. Cover the topic of seed formation and seed structure. DONE: Did not get above topic covered. Gave test on brain anatomy. Showed part of a brain documentary. Homework: study.

Monday 11/3/19: TO DO: Cover fertilisation and seed formation. DONE: Covered fertilisation following on from pollination. Did not get seed formation covered. Homework: study the structure of the human brain for tomorrow’s visit to the Brain Exhibition.


Thursday 7/3/19: TO DO: Give test. Cover pollination. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study pollination for informal test next week.

Wednesday 6/3/19: Cover pollen grain development. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study embryo sac development and pollen grain development for short test tomorrow.

Tuesday 5/3/19: TO DO: Cover embryo sac development. DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off embryo sac development for short informal assessment tomorrow.


Monday 25/2/19 – Friday 1/3/19 and Monday 4/3/19: LC Mock exams.


Monday 18/2/19 – Friday 22/2/19: Midterm break.


Thursday 14/2/19: TO DO: Recap on the menstrual cycle. Cover the topic of contraception and infertility & IVF as well as development of the embryo – morula, blastocyst and the three germ layers and resulting organ systems; cover immune system topics (active v passive immunity, antigen v antibody, vaccination and the types of lymphocytes – B cells and T cells. Also cover nervous system topics: motor neuron, sensory neuron, synapse and Parkinson’s disease. Finally cover the topics of hormone and a hormone deficiency. DONE: Did all of the above topics over the course of two and a half classes. Homework: study for mock exam next week.

Wednesday 13/2/19: TO DO: Cover the menstrual cycle. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study.

Tuesday 12/2/19: TO DO: Continue with the human skeleton. Finish structure and function of the long bone. Cover bone development, growth and renewal. Cover one musculoskeletal disorder. DONE: Did all of the above topics. Homework: study.

Monday 11/2/19: TO DO: Practical activity to set up activity to demonstrate the digestive activity of germinating seeds. DONE: Did the above. Also covered the structure of a long bone. Homework: study.


Wednesday 6/2/19 – Friday 8/2/19: absent

Tuesday 5/2/19: TO DO: Recap on germination. Start the human skeleton. DONE:  Did the above. Homework: learn off the structure of the human skeleton for a short informal test tomorrow.

Monday 4/2/19: TO DO: Practical activity: to investigate the three factors that affect germination. DONE: Students set up practical. Homework: complete write up and answer practical activity questions 1-3 p296.


Thursday 31/1/19: TO DO: Cover the topic of pollination. DONE: Covered pollination: animal v wind and cross v self. Homework: study.

Wednesday 30/1/19: TO DO: Start Chapter 28: sexual reproduction in the flowering plant. Cover the structure and function of a typical flower. Start pollination if time. DONE: Covered the structure and function of a typical flower. Homework: study for upcoming mock exam.

Tuesday 29/1/19: TO DO: Cover vegetative propagation. DONE: Cover chapter 27. Homework: complete questions 1-7 p282.

Monday 28/1/19: TO DO: Practical activity: to measure the lengths of all roots and shoots in the IAA experiment. DONE: Students did the above practical, wrote up the results and drew graphs. Homework: complete write up and study.


Thursday 24/1/19: TO DO: Cover the topics of uses of plant growth regulators and the anatomical and chemical adaptations of plants. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the sample exam questions on page 277.

Wednesday 23/1/19: TO DO: Cover the topic of growth regulators, IAA, functions and mechanism of phototropism. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: Questions 1-4, 6 and 9 page 276.

Tuesday 22/1/19: TO DO: Cover the definitions “tropisms”, “response” and “stimulus”. Cover the five tropisms giving an example of each. Homework: complete questions 1-5 of the practical activity questions.

Monday 21/1/19: TO DO: Practical activity: Set up of activity to investigate the effect of IAA on the growth of plant tissue. DONE: Students set up the experiment. Homework: complete the write up of the method and answer the practical activity questions 1-5 on page 274.


Thursday 17/1/19: TO DO: DONE: Covered detailed section on the cohesion-tension model of water transport through plants, control of stomatal opening and closing. Homework: answer questions up to and including Q13 p267.

Wednesday 16/1/19: TO DO: DONE: Covered the water absorption and movement through plants – cohesion, tension, adhesion, transpiration, and root pressure. Homework: complete questions 1-7 at the end of chapter 25.

Tuesday 15/1/19:
TO DO: Cover the xylem and phloem detailed structure and function.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions at the end of chapter 24 up to and including Q19 p257.

Monday 14/1/19:
TO DO: Continue with Chapter 24: structure of flowering plants. Cover the structure of the stem, leaf, bud and root.
DONE: Did all of the above – except for the detailed structure of xylem and phloem. Homework: complete questions 1-16 p257.


Monday 7/1/19 – Friday 11/1/19: Due to be away – work left for students.


Thursday 20/12/18:
TO DO: Test on microbiology chapters.
DONE: Test given.

Wednesday 19/12/18:
TO DO: Revision.
DONE: Revision done in preparation for tomorrow’s test. Homework: study.

Tuesday 18/12/18:
TO DO: Take up practical copies. Continue with Chapter 24. Cover the common characteristics of flowering plants, and basic structure of the plant, stem and leaf.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for short test on Microbiology on Thursday.

Monday 17/12/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with the chapter on viruses. Cover viral replication and economic importance of viruses. Students to finish chapter questions. Start Chapter 24: Structure of flowering plants. Students to conduct practical activity to view the cross section of a dicot stem using the light microscope. Introduce the topic of structure of flowering plants.
DONE: Students conducted the practical to view a dicot stem using the light microscope. Homework: study for short test on Microbiology on Thursday.


Thursday 13/12/18:
TO DO: Many due to be absent due to retreat. Revision to be done.
DONE: Revised respiration, energy carriers and protein synthesis with the four students present. Homework: revise for test next Thursday.

Wednesday 12/12/18:
TO DO: Many due to be absent due to retreat. Revision to be done.
DONE: Revised respiration. Did past paper questions. Homework: revise for test next Thursday.

Tuesday 11/12/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions. Start viruses. Cover structure, types and general characteristics.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1-6 page 246.

Monday 10/12/18:
TO DO:Cover reproduction in Rhizopus and economic importance. Cover Kingdom Protista.
DONE: Corrected homework questions. Covered sexual and asexual reproduction in Fungi. Started and completed the chapter on protista (Amoeba). viruses. Homework: complete questions at the end of Kingdom Protista chapter.


Thursday 6/12/18:
TO DO: Many due to be absent due to Bish Bash and sport. Revision to be done with the remainder.
DONE: All LC students were sent to study room for today.

Wednesday 5/12/18:
TO DO: Cover Rhizopus – structure and reproduction.
DONE: Covered the structure of Rhizopus. Showed crash course Biology video on Fungi. Did not get to cover Rhizopus reproduction. Gave out a worksheet. Homework: answer questions 1 and 2 (a) – (e) on the worksheet.

Tuesday 4/12/18:
TO DO: Cover food processing and batch v continuous flow processing. Start Chapter 21: Kingdom Fungi, if time.
DONE: Did all of the above. Started Kingdom Fungi. Covered up to and including Yeast including the reproduction by budding. Homework: draw figure 21.3 page 232.

Monday 3/12/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with Chapter 20: Kingdom Monera. Cover the microorganism growth curve and factors affecting the growth of bacteria. Cover beneficial and harmful effects of bacteria.
DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: complete the sample exam questions 1 and 2, page 227.


Friday 30/11/18: Due to be away at inservice. Work left.

Thursday 29/11/18: No class due to teacher inservice day.

Wednesday 28/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with Chapter 20: Monera. Cover the topics of bacterial reproduction and endospore formation
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 5, 6, 7 page 225.

Tuesday 27/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and start Chapter 20: Monera.
DONE: Covered intro to Monera, types of bacteria and examples. Homework: complete questions 1-4 page 225.

Monday 26/11/18:
TO DO: Continue with genetic engineering. Cover ligation, selection & cloning, and expression. Cover Chapter 19: Diversity of living organisms. Start Chapter 20: Monera, if time.
DONE: Finished genetic engineering. Covered diversity of life. Did not start Chapter 20: Monera. Homework: complete questions 1-11 page 208 and questions 1 and 2 page 215.

——————————————————————————————————————

Thursday 22/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework and continue with chapter 17. Cover the topic of ligation, transformation selection & cloning and expression.
DONE: Covered ligation and transformation only. Homework: Questions 3-8 page 208.

Wednesday 21/11/18:
TO DO: Give short test on definitions and start Chapter 18: genetic engineering.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1 and 2 page 208.

Tuesday 20/11/18:
TO DO: Correct homework and continue with chapter 17. Cover the topic of evidence for evolution.
DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: questions 8-11 and the sample exam questions, page 201 and learn of definitions evolution, mutation, species, genetic engineering and Darwin’s four observations and three conclusions.

Monday 19/11/18:
TO DO: Start Chapter 17: Variation & Evolution.
DONE: Did the above. Showed crash course video on evolution. Covered variation, mutations, mutagens, evolution, and the theory of natural selection. Homework: complete questions 1 – 7 of the chapter questions page 201.

——————————————————————————————————————-

Tuesday 13/11/18 – Friday 16/11/18: Christmas mock exams

Monday 12/11/18: Due to be away at an NCCA meeting. Work left for students.

—————————————————————————————————————-

Thursday 8/11/18:
TO DO: Revision. Gave worksheets.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: study!!!

Wednesday 7/11/18:
TO DO: Cover pedigree studies and non-nuclear inheritance.
DONE: Did the above. Gave worksheets. Homework: complete worksheet.

Tuesday 6/11/18:
TO DO: Cover sex linkage.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete 4 sex-linked crosses put up on the whiteboard.

Monday 5/11/18:
TO DO: Give back tests and correct. Did the above. Start sex linkage.
DONE: Gave back test and corrected. Did not have time to cover sex linkage. Homework: study for next week’s Christmas exam.

—————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 25/10/18:
TO DO: Test to be given
DONE: Test given. Many absent

Wednesday 24/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework and give revision worksheet.
DONE: Did the above. Went over dihybrid crosses again. Briefly mentioned linkage at the end. Homework: study for upcoming test.

Tuesday 23/10/18:
TO DO: Give test on Mendel’s laws. Further study on dihybrid crosses.
DONE: Did the above. Students practiced more on monohybrid and dihybrid crosses. Homework: questions 27 and 28 page 189. and study for upcoming test on Thursday.

Monday 22/10/18:
TO DO: Practical activity to grow leaf yeast.
DONE: Students did the above practical. Homework: complete the write-up if not already done and answer practical activity questions 1-10 p235.

————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 18/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions from worksheet and start Mendel’s laws.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: for next Tuesday have Mendel’s two laws learned off.

Wednesday 17/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework. Continue with genetic crosses. Give out worksheets to do.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: answer questions 1-4 on the worksheets given out.

Tuesday 16/10/18:
TO DO: Start on Mendel and his studies on pea plants and start dihybrid crosses.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the dihybrid cross taken down from the whiteboard.

Monday 15/10/18: Away at Junior Cycle Maths inservice

—————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 11/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and get students to do more questions on monohybrid crosses. Cover incomplete dominance.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for upcoming test.

Wednesday 10/10/18: No school due to whole-school well-being inservice for teachers

Tuesday 9/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions. Continue with monohybrid crosses and cover sex determination.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete chapter questions up to and including question 18 page 189.

Monday 8/10/18:
TO DO: Correct homework and cover the topic of monohybrid crosses.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 9, 10 and 11 page 188 and complete questions 7-12 on the worksheet given out at the end of class.

——————————————————————————————————————

Thursday 4/10/18:
TO DO: Test on definitions. Give back class test from previous day and correct. Continue with genetics. Students to do questions 1-8 at the end of chapter 16.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-8 pages 187-8.

Wednesday 3/10/18:
TO DO: Start Chapter 16: genetics.
DONE: Started chapter 16: genetics. Covered the definitions on the first three pages – all the way to phenotype. Homework: learn off definitions for test on them tomorrow.

Tuesday 2/10/18:
TO DO: Give test.
DONE: Test given.

Monday 1/10/18: No class due to day off.

—————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 27/9/18: No class due to careers fair.

Wednesday 26/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover translation and protein folding of the protein synthesis process. Show video of protein synthesis.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions up to 11 and study for the test.

Tuesday 25/9/18:
TO DO: Start protein synthesis. Concentrate on the first stage: transcription.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1-5 page 169.

Monday 24/9/18:
TO DO: Revision of mitosis and meiosis and DNA – show crash course video on mitosis and meiosis and DNA replication.
DONE: Did the above. Students did new notes on mitosis and structure of DNA. Homework: complete diagram of DNA structure. Best one to be chosen tomorrow for the website. Study for test on Thursday.

—————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 20/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions from worksheet. Cover genetic screening.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 12 page 162, question 3 from the sample exam questions and complete the worksheet given out – all due for Monday.

Wednesday 19/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and get students to do paper-based CSI DNA profiling activity.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: Questions 1-6 on the attached worksheet.

Tuesday 18/9/18: No school due to teacher CPD.

Monday 17/9/18:
TO DO: Practical activity: to isolate DNA from plant tissue.
DONE: Students completed the practical. Homework: complete practical activity questions 1-11 page 161.

—————————————————————————————————————-

Thursday 13/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the topic of DNA profiling.
DONE: Corrected homework and then covered ‘isolation’; ‘cutting’; and ‘separation’ parts of DNA profiling. Homework: study.

Wednesday 12/9/18:
TO DO: Cover DNA replication.
DONE: Recapped on structure of DNA. Gave worksheets on the structure of DNA. Covered DNA replication. Homework: 6-11 pages 162-3.

Tuesday 11/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with chapter 14 – cover topics of detailed structure of DNA
DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete worksheet given out.

Monday 10/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and start Chapter 14: DNA/RNA.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1-6 page 162.

——————————————————————————————————————

Thursday 6/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover meiosis. Start Chapter 14: DNA/RNA if time.
DONE: Corrected homework and covered meiosis. Did not get time to start DNA chapter. Homework: complete question 12 page 152 and the worksheet given.

Wednesday 5/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework. Cover the topics of functions of mitosis in single-celled and multicellular organisms and cover cancer.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 8 and 11 (page 152) and 2 and 3 (sample exam questions – page 153).

Tuesday 4/9/18:
TO DO: Correct homework questions and give practice questions on chromosome diagrams. Cover the process of cell division.
DONE: Corrected questions. Covered cell division. Homework: questions 7, 9 and 10 page 152.

Monday 3/9/18:
TO DO: Give short test on definitions. Cover the detailed part of mitosis.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 1-6 page 152.

—————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday 30/8/18:
TO DO: Continue with chapter 13: cell cycle. Discuss homologous chromosomes.
DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off the three definitions on page 144-5.

Wednesday 29th August 2018:
TO DO: introduce LC year and plan for the year ahead. Start Chapter 13 if time.
DONE: Started chapter 13. No homework given to allow students to organise for the year ahead.

Advertisements