LC Biology

Tuesday 19/11/19: TO DO: Continue with genetics. Cover the topic of sex linkage. DONE: Did the above. Homework:

Monday 18/11/19: Away at a NCCA meeting. Work left. Homework: complete the past paper questions that were left.


Tuesday 12/11/19 – Friday 15/11/19: Pre-mock LC exams.

Monday 11/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the topic of linkage. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study for pre-mock Biology exam this coming Friday


Friday 8/11/19: TO DO: Continue with genetics. Cover Mendel’s second law of independent assortment and dihybrid crosses. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the crosses given on the worksheet.

Thursday 7/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover Mendel’s second law of independent assortment. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 3 on the worksheet given out on Tuesday.

Tuesday 5/11/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover significance of first law. Cover second law if time. DONE: Covered the explanation of Mendel’s first law. Practiced monohybrid crosses with students. Homework: complete the three questions on the assigned worksheet.

Monday 4/11/19: TO DO: Start origins of genetics, Gregor Mendel and Mendel’s 1st Law of Segregation. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 22 and question 1 of the sample exam questions.


Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November: Midterm break


Friday 25/10/19: TO DO: Give test and do DNA profiling activity. DONE: Test given and DNA profiling activity partially completed – ran out of time with students.

Thursday 24/10/19: TO DO: Many students due to be absent due to Hamlet trip. Revision to be done. DONE: Students did work on khanacademy.org. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Tuesday 22/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the topic of Mendel’s laws and start dihybrid crosses, if time. DONE: Covered incomplete dominance only. Homework: questions 20 and 21 page 188 and study for test.

Monday 21/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover incomplete dominance and cover the crosses associated with incomplete dominance. DONE: Corrected homework. Covered sex determination. Did not do incomplete dominance. Homework: questions 13 – 19 page 188


Friday 18/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and continue with chapter 16: genetics. Cover all the various definitions and start monohybrid crosses. DONE: Did the above topics. Homework: complete questions 1-12 pages 187-188.

Thursday 17/10/19: TO DO: Cover the detailed process of translation. Start Chapter 16: Genetics. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete chapter questions at the end of chapter 15.

Tuesday 15/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover translation in detail. DONE: Corrected homework questions. Didn’t get to cover translation in detail, but showed crash course video of transcription and translation. Homework: study.

Monday 14/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Start chapter 15: protein synthesis. DONE: Did the above. Covered transcription in detail and mentioned translation and protein folding. Homework: complete questions 1-6 page 169.


Friday 11/10/19: TO DO: Practical activity to prepare leaf yeast plates. DONE: Students prepared the dishes and they were placed in the incubator. Practical activity written up. Homework: complete write-up if not done, and answer practical activity questions 1-8 page 235.

Thursday 10/10/19: TO DO: Correct homework question and cover the topics of genetic screening and RNA. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete the DNA to RNA sequences and study.

Tuesday 8/10/19: TO DO: Go over the exam with students and continue with Chapter 14. Cover DNA profiling. DONE: Did the above. Homework: question 2 of the sample exam questions.

Monday 7/10/19: No class due to teacher Pieta House inservice session.


Friday 4/10/19: No Leaving Certs present in school due to college open day.

Thursday 3/10/19: Due to be away with the Athletics team. Work left.

Tuesday 1/10/19: TO DO: Test to be given on topics covered to date. DONE: Test given.

Monday 30/9/19: No school due to day off


Friday 27/9/19: Practical activity: to isolate DNA from onion tissue. DONE: Students did the above practical and started writing it up. Homework: complete the writ-up and answer practical activity questions on page 160.

Thursday 26/9/19: TO DO: Continue with DNA and RNA. Cover the topics of structure and function of DNA. Cover the definitions. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 1-9 of the chapter questions and study for the end of month test.

Tuesday 24/9/19: No school due to teacher inservice day.

Monday 23/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start chapter 14: DNA and RNA. Introduce the function and location of DNA. DONE: Did the above. Homework: draw out the structure of DNA figure 14.5 and learn for upcoming test.


Friday 20/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Cover importance of mitosis and cover meiosis. Move on to Chapter 14: DNA and RNA. DONE: Corrected homework questions and continued with the cell cycle. Covered importance of mitosis and meiosis as well as cancer. Showed crash course videos on mitosis and meiosis. Homework: complete chapter questions page 152 up to and including question 15 and complete the practical activity questions page 153.

Thursday 19/9/19; TO DO: Recap. Cover the topics of anaphase and telophase, cytokinesis. DONE: Did the above. Homework: questions 6, 7 and 8 at the end of the chapter (page 152).

Tuesday 17/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover mitosis in detail. DONE: Corrected questions and covered the topics of prophase and metaphase of mitosis. Homework: find out the diploid number of chromosomes of two organisms of your choice.

Monday 16/9/19: TO DO: Give short test on definitions. Continue with the cell cycle. DONE: Gave test. Covered the concepts of haploid and diploid and started the three phases of the cell cycle. Homework: question 1-5 at the end of the chapter (page 152).


Friday 13/9/19: TO DO: Demonstrate an experiment to show the chemical and organic composition of bone. Start chapter 13: cell cycle. DONE: Did the above. Homework: study the definitions introduced in chapter 13 for a short informal test on Monday.

Thursday 12/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework questions and recap. Cover musculoskeletal disorder. DONE: Covered the above. Covered musculoskeletal disorder. Homework: complete question 14 (c) of the 2019 paper.

Tuesday 10/9/19: TO DO: Recap and correct homework. Cover the topic of bone development, and bone renewal. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete questions 11-13 page 419.

Monday 9/9/19: TO DO: Continue with the musculoskeletal system. DONE: Recapped on the topics of axial and appendicular skeleton as well as details of the various parts. Also covered the structure of a lone bone and all the various functions. Homework: question 7-10 page 419.


Friday 6/9/19: Away working with the SEC.

Thursday 5/9/19: Due to be away with the SEC. Worksheets to be given.

Tuesday 3/9/19: TO DO: Give test on bones of the skeleton. Continue with chapter 40: the human musculoskeletal system. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete chapter questions 1-6 page 419.

Monday 2/9/19: TO DO: Correct homework. Start Chapter 40: the musculoskeletal system. DONE: Did the above. Homework: learn off all the bones in the body for a short test on them tomorrow.


Friday 30/8/19: TO DO: Correct homework question and continue with the nervous system. Cover the topics of spinal cord, reflex arc and differences between a nervous response and an endocrine response. Students to also do the knee jerk reflex. DONE: Did all of the above. Homework: finish questions at the end of the chapter and complete all questions on assigned worksheet.

Thursday 29/8/19: TO DO: Continue with Chapter 39: the human nervous system – the central nervous system. DONE: Covered the brain, its structure and functions of the various parts. Homework: question 10 page 406.

Tuesday 27/8/19: TO DO: Discuss year plan and continue with Chapter 39: human nervous system. DONE: Did the above. Covered the senses of taste, smell and touch. Homework: get the exam papers and study!