LC2 BIOLOGY 2020-2021


Mon 26/10/20 – Fri 30/10/20: Midterm break


Thu 22/10/20: TO DO: Test of all topics covered this term.

Wed 21/10/20: TO DO: Recap on protein synthesis and cover folding of proteins. DONE: Covered the remainder of chapter 15. Homework: study for test on Thursday.

Mon 19/10/20: TO DO: Practical activity to isolate DNA from banana using Cell Explorers kit. DONE: Students completed the activity with the help of Cell explorers live stream. Homework: study for test on Thursday.


Thu 15/10/20: TO DO: Cover the structure of RNA and start Chapter 15: Protein synthesis. DONE: Did the above. Covered transcription and translation. Homework: study for upcoming tests.

Wed 14/10/20: TO DO: Cover DNA profiling. DONE: Covered DNA profiling. Homework: answer questions 8-11 page 162 – 163.

Mon 12/10/20: TO DO: Continue with Chapter 14: DNA and RNA. Give short exercise on structure of DNA. Cover complementary base pairing, DNA replication and DNA profiling, if time. DONE: Gave exercise and covered DNA replication. Didn’t get to do DNA profiling. Homework: study for test next week.


Thu 8/10/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions. Start Chapter 14: DNA and RNA. DONE: Correct HW. Started Chapter 14. Covered the definitions in the intro. Covered the structure of DNA. Homework: learn off the structure of DNA.

Wed 7/10/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and cover the topic of meiosis. Start Chapter 14: DNA and RNA. DONE: Corrected homework questions and covered meiosis. Did not get to start Chapter 14. Homework: complete questions 1, 2, 3 and 4 of the sample exam questions on page 153.

Mon 5/10/20: TO DO: Correct the exam with students and continue with chapter 13. Cover functions of mitosis, cancer and meiosis. DONE: Covered the solutions to the exam. Covered functions of mitosis and cancer. Did not get to do meiosis. Homework: questions 9-11 page 152.


Thu 1/10/20: Test on everything covered so far this year (chapters 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23) for the first 30 minutes. DONE: Test give. Covered cell division and mitosis chromosome diagrams. Homework: complete question 6 p152.

Wed 30/9/20: TO DO: View leaf yeast activity results. Finish write up. Continue with mitosis and the four stages. Cover cell division if time. DONE: Completed leaf yeast activity. Covered the four stages of mitosis. Did not get to cover cytokinesis. Homework: study for test tomorrow.

Monday 28/9/20: No class due to school day off.


Thu 24/9/20: TO DO: Correct any questions students had difficulty with. Start Chapter 13: The cell cycle. DONE: Did the above. Covered the intro to cell cycle and mentioned the three distinct stages. Described what happens during interphase. Homework: study for test next week.

Wed 23/9/20: TO DO: Correct homework questions and start Chapter 23: Kingdom Protista. DONE: Did the above. Homework: complete chapter questions at the end of the chapter.

Mon 21/9/20: TO DO: Practical activity to set up petri dishes to grow leaf yeast. DONE: Did the activity. Homework: complete the write up and practical activity questions.


Thu 17/9/20: TO DO: Cover chapter Fungi again. DONE: Covered the entire chapter quickly as had already been covered by supervising teachers. Homework: complete all chapter questions at the end of chapter 21 over the weekend.

Wed 16/9/20: TO DO: Students to continue with Chapter 21: Fungi in my absence. DONE: Work was given to covering teacher.

Mon 14/9/20: TO DO: Start Chapter 21: Fungi. DONE: Absent. Work was left for covering teacher. Students started Fungi.


Thu 10/9/20: TO DO: Complete the chapter on bacteria. DONE: Did the above. Homework:

Wed 9/9/20: TO DO: Correct homework and continue with endospore formation and bacterial growth curve. DONE: Did the above. Homework:

Mon 7/9/20: TO DO: Correct homework and continue with bacteria – structure and function and reproduction. DONE: did the above. Homework:


Thu 3/9/20: TO DO: Cover Chapter 19: Diversity of life and start Chapter 20 if time. DONE: Did the above. Homework:

Wed 2/9/20: TO DO: Continue with viruses. Cover reproduction and economic importance. DONE: Did the above. Homework:

Mon 31/8/20: TO DO: Intro year plan etc. Start viruses. DONE: Did above. Homework: