TY Maths


Friday 13/3/20: No class due to Covid-19.

Thursday 12/3/20: TO DO: Numeracy ninja. DONE: Got weeks 4, 5, 6 and 7 covered.

Monday 9/3/20: TO DO: Numeracy ninja. DONE: Got weeks 1, 2 and 3 covered.


Friday 6/3/20: No class due to TYs finishing a school bank assignment. (Also many were absent)

Thursday 5/3/20: No class due to TY trip away.

Monday 2/3/20: No class due to TY group 3 students doing a day of Chinese.


Friday 28/2/20: TO DO: Setup class on khanacademy.org DONE: Did the above.

Thursday 27/2/20: No class due to TY group 3 trip away.

Monday 24/2/20: TO DO: Problem solving exercises in groups. DONE: Did the above.


Monday 17/2/20 – Friday 21/2/20: Midterm break


Friday 14/2/20: khanacademy.org/numeracy ninja

Thursday 13/2/20: No class due to class doing Chinese.

Monday 10/2/20: Numeracy ninja


Friday 7/2/20: Due to be away. Work to be left for students to complete.

Thursday 6/2/20: Due to be away. Work to be left for students to complete.

Monday 3/2/20: Problem-solving.


Friday 31/1/20: TO DO: Khanacademy.org

Thursday 30/1/20: TO DO: Kahoot and numeracy ninja.

Monday 27/1/20: Due to away at Schools Cross Country. Work to be left.


Friday 24/1/20: TO DO: khanacademy.org

Thursday 23/1/20: TO DO: Problem solving – looked at savings and investments.

Monday 20/1/20: TO DO: Problem solving.


Friday 17/1/20: TO DO: Students to do work on their Khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: There were no laptops available so did problem-solving with the class.

Thursday 16/1/20: TO DO: Problems-solving geometry task to be given.

Monday 13/1/20: TO DO: Problems-solving task sheets to be given.


Friday 10/1/20: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts.

Thursday 9/1/20: No class due to TY class doing a CSI project all day.

Monday 6/1/20: TO DO: Problem solving worksheets given out to do. DONE: Did the above. Homework: try to do the last puzzle given out on the board.


Friday 20/12/19: No class due to half day.

Thursday 19/12/19: TO DO: Problem solving exercises. DONE: No class due to TYs going to the cinema.

Monday 16/12/19: No class due to TYs doing a cake sale all day.


Friday 13/12/19: No class due to TYs preparing for their cake sale next Monday.

Thursday 12/12/19: TO DO: Problem solving exercises. DONE: Did the above.

Monday 9/12/19: TO DO: Problem solving exercises. DONE: Students did Christmas advent calendar problem.


Friday 6/12/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy assignments.

Thursday 5/12/19: No class due to TY trip to NUIG.

Monday 2/12/19: TO DO: Problem solving. Ant and honey and rope around Earth puzzles.


Friday 29/11/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy.org maths accounts.

Thursday 28/11/19: TO DO: Problem solving. DONE: Students did the egg timer problem and match stick problems.

Monday 25/11/19: No school – day off.


Friday 22/11/19: No class due to science week trip for TYs.

Thursday 21/11/19: No class due to JCT cluster day.

Monday 18/11/19: At an NCCA meeting. Work left.


Friday 15/11/19: Students to get set up on khanacademy.org and do work on their accounts.

Thursday 14/11/19: No class due to the class doing a day of Chinese.

Monday 11/11/19: Students did problem solving quiz.


Friday 8/11/19: Class did work on their khanacademy.org accounts

Thursday 7/11/19: No class due to TY trip away.

Monday 4/11/19: TO DO: More problem solving questions to be given. DONE: Did the above.


Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November: Midterm break


Friday 25/10/19: TO DO: Students to get laptops and do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did the above.

Thursday 24/10/19: TO DO: Problem solving activities involving geometry. DONE: Students did more geometry problem solving activities. Many students were also absent.

Monday 21/10/19: TO DO: Geometry problem to be done. DONE: Students did two geometry problems. Homework: given to make a tetrahedron and pyramid with the same dimensions and solve a problem based on them.


Friday 18/10/19: TO DO: Bring laptops into class for students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did the above.

Thursday 17/10/19: No class due to students attending ThermoKing as part of their Business class.

Monday 14/10/19: TO DO: Problem-solving questions. DONE: Students did problem solving questions in class.


Friday 11/10/19: No class due to the TYs being away.

Thursday 10/10/19: No class due to the TYs being away at zeminar in Dublin.

Monday 7/10/19: TO DO: Quiz questions to be given. DONE: Gave quiz questions and also gave a HW question.


Friday 4/10/19: No class due to Junior Cert results presentation.

Thursday 3/10/19: Due to be away with Athletics team. Work left.

Monday 30/9/19: No school due to day off.


Friday 27/9/19: TO DO: Students to do work on their khanacademy.org accounts. DONE: Did the above.

Thursday 26/9/19: Problem solving.

Monday 23/9/19: TO DO: Problem solving quiz and match stick problems. DONE: Did the above.


Friday 20/9/19: TY students due to attend the Climate Change Protest.

Thursday 19/9/19: TO DO: Continue with problem solving quiz and matchstick problems. DONE: Did the ant and the honey problem. Students also did three matchstick problems.

Monday 16/9/19: TO DO: Problem solving quiz on probabilities. DONE: Did the above. Did the lady testing tea problem as well as the sums on a dice problem. Also did a match stick problem making 3 squares from 4 using three moves.


Friday 13/9/19: TO DO: Students to get laptops and do work on their khanacademy accounts. DONE: Did the above.

Thursday 12/9/19: TO DO: Problem solving quiz. DONE: Did the above. Did the “hands on a clock” puzzle and the “making a fair coin toss” puzzle.

Monday 9/9/19: TO DO: Continue with problem solving quiz. DONE: Did the gold bar problem and egg timer.


Friday 6/9/19: Away working with the SEC.

Thursday 5/9/19: Away working with the SEC.

Monday 2/9/19: TO DO: Problem solving questions in quiz format. Did the tortilla and pie cutting problems.


Friday 30/8/19: TO DO: Setup khanacademy class if computer room is available. Continue with problem solving quiz if not. DONE: Continued with problem solving quiz as computer room was not available.

Thursday 29/8/19: TO DO: Introduce TY maths and discuss plan for the term. Problem solving quiz to be done. DONE: Did the above. Group 4 won the quiz.